SHAPES (2) - AUGUST CHALLENGE

It’s a good job we aren’t overlooked in our garden at the back of the house, because first thing in the morning, you will often find me out there, just in my bathrobe, taking photographs, and this morning was no exception. Mr. HCB has got quite used to me coming down after having had my shower, and just walking into the garden, picking up my camera on the way.

Today’s August Challenge is SHAPES and there were certainly plenty to choose from. I found lots of woodlice underneath the logs stacked against the fence, but they were too quick for me and once the logs were disturbed, they were running for their lives.

Then I spotted these little fungi growing on the edge of our lawn - we don’t have a “bowling green” perfect lawn, partly because it is on clay soil and is badly drained and also because we don't spend hours looking after it - but they made a good subject for today’s blip.

When I looked closer, I could see the water droplets on the fungi and on the grass - and I rather liked the overall effect, although Mr. HCB is not so happy that these are growing in the lawn.

They are all different shapes and are quite beautiful in their own way - and isn’t that the case with all of us - we are all different and unique and just because we aren’t the same shape as someone else, doesn’t mean we are any less valuable or beautiful.

“It is when we think we can act like God,
that all respect is lost,
and I think this is the downfall of peace.
We lie if we say we do not see
color and culture and difference.
We fool ourselves and cheat ourselves
when we say that all of us are the same.
We should not want to be the same as others
and we should not want others to be the same as us.
Rather, we ought to glory and shine
in all of our differences,
flaunting them fabulously for all to see!
It is never a conformity that we need!
We need not to conform!
What we need is to burst out
into all these beautiful colors!”
C. JoyBell

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.