Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Wild Rambling

Today is the start of a short walking holiday based at Rydal Hall near Ambleside and organised by my friend, Helen Venus, who runs Wild Rambling. I first met Helen through a holiday I had with Walking Women in Bulgaria a few years ago and we have kept in touch since.

Rydal Hall is an Anglican Retreat and Conference Centre, but like many places has opened its doors to others who want to stay. Sadly there was no hot water for some of us when we returned from our first walk yesterday evening. It had been belting down with rain and I was so looking forward to a hot shower. Something had gone wrong with the hydroelectricity - beyond me.

It rained so hard that this is the only picture I took today. I packed the camera away after this because there was a deluge. This is the garden in front of Rydal Hall. I have used the art history brush to give a subtle impressionist effect.

We had a pleasant evening meal - very tasty - but the meat allocation was very small. We are eating out tomorrow!

The internet connection here is very poor, hence this is a back blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.