RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Petisko Deli

Today we were foolishly walking around town during the heat of the day. We tried to cool off with coffee, iced not hot, at a small coffee bar next to the basketball court. While it helped, the real find was a new deli, open only twelve days, around the corner. Petisko Delicatessen was like something one would find in the United States. Frigid air conditioning greeted me as I walked in the door. A row of stainless refrigerated cases held a number of sweet and savory treats, which are very reasonably priced (those prices on the board are in pesos). Shelves of gift sauces and spices faced a bank of windows flooding the space with beautiful natural light. This is Lupita, who spoke serviceable English to complement my rudimentary Spanish, who happily posed for photographs (though she did ask me to retake my first effort after she viewed it on the back of my camera, worried it made her look fat). It is just like everyone says, people are happy to pose when asked, though it might have helped that I was a paying customer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.