Foxy

Many many massive thanks to everyone who dropped in on my journal yesterday to offer their very kind and encouraging words of congratulation! It means a lot especially coming from you talented bunch! Have to confess I'm feeling a tad the worse for wear this morning as we went out to celebrate last night! :))

Groping my way down into the kitchen for my morning cuppa which I was going to take back to bed when I saw this on the window outside. Perfect. Grabbed the tripod teetered on a wicker conservatory chair, in my dressing gown - just glad it wasn't raining and took a few shots.

This is a Red Underwing..so called because......... :) It is a pity it didn't have it's wings open because the hind wings are the most delicious shade of rosy red which was quite a surprise for me really for a grey moth. There were 2 just sitting on the glass which you couldn't miss as they have exceptionally large grey forewings which apparently no other resident moth has. The colours remind me of mudflats in the way they merge and run and I think it's quite attractive! They like poplars and willows which we have in abundance round here.

Love the cute little foxy face!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.