Gone But Not Forgotten

Well hopefully not a tough day today as 10 years ago today I was halfway through my first trip to Canada and had been in the Rockie Mountains when I got back to my sister in laws house her daughter was waiting at the door for us and asked me to phone my oldest brother Raymond when I called him he said don't worry Mark it's not your kids but that my Dad had suddenly passed away it was a total shock to me as I had spoke to him the day before and had my best ever chat with him laughing and joking he had said how he was waiting to go to my other brothers house for a BBQ just fifty yards away and he supposedly had his biggest ever meal that my brother had seen him eat I think deep down he must have known something was up as that whole routine of his changed that weekend as he was quite regimental in what he did he never washed the car at weekends or cleaned his golf clubs as he was retired he would always do it through the week no matter the weather and other stuff normally done during the week was done the day before also according to my brother as he collapsed on the couch with a heart attack at home he said to my brother take care of your mum which we all have these last ten years he was my best friend, confidant and the greatest father ever we never once ever argued or fell out he taught me all that I ever needed to know and I still miss him so much to this day although when I think of him it is always with a smile as all my memories were great with him he had so much patience and with such a caring heart and would take time out to help anyone now the reason I was up early to take this shot was I did not want to disturb the golfers later but this shot is of the 13th hole at Carrick Knowe Golf Club where my father first took me golfing and it was one of our favorite holes a short par 3 through the trees after my fathers funeral me and my two brothers we came to this hole with a golf club each and hit a ball to the green in memory to my dad the course was closed due to being flooded and the rain was hammering down we had the course to ourselves which was good to gather our thoughts and before we walked onto the green we veered to the left to scatter his ashes into the trees on the left although we kept a little of his ashes for all of us to keep him close I almost never made it to here that day as well as our emergency flights back from Canada almost ended in Disaster at Toronto as we had connecting flights there after departing Calgary the Insurance company upgraded us to first class from Toronto it was dark and we taxied near to the runway a plane landed then the jet in front of us took off we then drew up and waited then a plane landed I was sitting in the very front seat with a wall in front of the seat we then drew forward onto the runway when my face almost slammed into the said wall as we abrubtly stopped with a slam only to look out the window as a huge jet landed right where we would have been if we hadn't stopped OOPS that was a close one and not a word was said by cabin crew maybe they hoped as it was dark no one would have noticed but I did and almost shit my self anyway this is my early blip for the day in memory of my dad who passed away 10 years ago today at the age of 69 Love you Dad Gone But Not Forgotten. movie for the day is "My Father The Hero 1994" See Ya

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.