MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Averted: "Woman Dies Shooting Hornets' Nest"

I spent the afternoon at Great Amwell nature reserve. It's usually buzzing with birders but I was alone. Lonely at the viewpoint and lonely in the hides. I'm learning, there's not much to see at this time of year unless coots turn you on.

As I left the huge White Hide I scoured the area looking for macro opportunities. I noticed a hornet and then another. I had stumbled upon a hornets' nest in an old tree trunk. I swapped lenses and got as close as I could, shooting in my custom birds in flight mode. Unfortunately none of my flying hornets were in focus. :( Didn't hang around too long. Didn't want to die alone. ;)

Have been reduced to posting a pic of some beautiful scarlet runners on a narrowboat on the canal. I love runner beans. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.