Beached...with a Duel Purpose Tarp....

...which can be used for a sail or a picnic blanket.
My friend Merricks beautiful boat always makes me think of the Owl and the Pussycat.

I think I answered my own question…How the hell did it get so complicated?…this morning whilst performing my morning ablutions.

It's about stuff! Lots of stuff! Wanting stuff! the need for stuff! desiring stuff! hoarding stuff! thinking that stuff is going to fill the hole inside of me! Perhaps stuff will prove that I am a bona fide human being!…..there is always something that I want… need ….desire.
Like I said yesterday…when I travelled or moved house…my stuff could be moved in a car load ….if that..now its removal trucks with heavy Indonesian wooden furniture and boxes and boxes of stuff.
I have to say..it's good stuff. Stuff I have collected in all my travels…I have good taste and some of it is really beautiful. Being an artist for many years I have lots of art stuff and huge framed paintings with not enough walls to hang them.

I can go on………however I do have some compassion for myself. Being born in the year of the Dragon makes it really understandable Dragons love their treasure however it keeps them in dark caves guarding it when they could be out flying around the the big open sky…..but it's in their/my nature…..a bit like the frog and the scorpion story….just can't help it.

However…as the mortal coil tightens……..I start to feel a bit burdened by it all and I feel that it really no longer serves its purpose…I love beauty around me but I am finding it more and more down by the river and not so much in my beautiful dust collecting artefacts.
To sum it all up though…I think stuff and the desire for stuff has to be sorted out inside of me….maybe to think about what makes my heart sing and what is a burden…..to find a place I can walk a bit lighter on the Earth.
And of course there is Big Brother….and I don't mean that ridiculous TV show either.
Thank goodness the Rumi (not the dog) poem is not so long after that ramble on.

The soul has been given its own ears to hear,
things mind does not understand.
Rumi (not the dog)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.