Castlegate

Castlegate lies at the East end of Union Street. The monument in the foreground is is the memorial to the Gordon Highlanders. This is a fairly recent addition to the square. To the left and in the middle distance is the Mercat Cross and in the background the Salvation Army Citadel.

I know I have posted pictures of Castlegate before, but I hope I have found a different angle and viewpoint on this occasion. I had a walk around the centre of town in the afternoon and took several photographs but this was my preferred view.

Sadly although this square is quite grand the streets around, particularly to the left of the picture are much less impressive. It is also a pity some rather ugly 1960s tower blocks were allowed to spoil the skyline.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.