A Little Bit of Fantasy

I went for a haircut today, not something I do more than once a month, and sometimes not even that often. Like Samson, having my locks shawn seems to have had an effect on me. Having taken a fairly normal picture of the Mercat Cross I decided to play around with it a bit. Largely because I thought the sky, and there is a lot of sky, was rather boring.

Perhaps this is an old colour photograph look. in addition to changing the colour I also removed a pigeon, a seat and numerous chimneys that were appearing over the top of the construction. I considered a before and after posting but have gone with only the after!

In response to popular demand, well at any rate one comment on my Blip yesterday, I have today posted a picture of the Aberdeen Mercat Cross (market cross).

The Mercat Cross was built in 1686, it comprises a hexagonal base in the centre of which there is a vertical post topped with a white royal unicorn. The structure is highly decorated, and includes medallions illustrating ten of the Stewart monarchs; namely James I to James V, Mary Queen of Scots, James VI, Charles I and II, and James VII.

The Mercat Cross was traditionally the site of miscellaneous public punishments, together with Royal proclamations. Not far away was the site where public executions took place, though I have still to identify the exact spot.

Castlegate provides numerous Blip opportunities. I may return!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.