ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

St. Marks.

Pentax K1000, colour film, ISO 400

Funny sort of day today. It was the 25th anniversary of the company I work for (strange to think that when the doors first opened, my Mum would have been about 6 months pregnant with me) and we were all invited for cake at about 10am... It was very sweet and I think triggered the headache that stuck with me for the rest of the day. Worth it though - yum!

At lunchtime I decided to go out for a bit of fresh air. I bought some charms for a necklace when we were in Cyprus and I wanted a long, fine gold chain to hang one on - apparently an impossible task in Aberdeen! Having tried 3 proper jewelers (and then Argos, H. Samuels and Ramsden's as a last ditch attempt) I gave up and started my walk back to the office, via St. Marks Church (111 years old this year!) for a Blip. I liked the strong architecture and the dot of gold at the top; don't be fooled by the blue sky though, that disappeared almost immediately after I took my photo! There is a row of charity shops on my way back to the office and because they're tucked away a bit, there are often a few gems lurking on the rails. I tried on a gorgeous blue silk Marc Jacobs skirt, which unfortunately gave me hips the width of a doorframe, and then found a lovely A-line pinpoint dotty skirt from Hobbs for £10.95 which fitted perfectly. I love Hobbs stuff, it feels very well made and the linings always make their clothes really comfy.

By the time I got back to the office my head was really sore, but I plodded on with my project until 5.00 when I gave up and went home. The bedroom has been in a state of disarray for about a week and a half now, with stuff in a big pile on the floor that I've been meaning to sort. I took up the radio and sat on the floor; folding clothes and organising stuff into bags and boxes for the bin/storage/to be put in a more sensible place. When I got up 45 minutes later I had quite a sense of achievement!

It was another Hairy Dieters recipe for dinner: Thai chicken curry. Thankfully it was one of those chuck-everything-in-the-pan-and-simmer jobs, so I had time to give Mum a call before M got home. He was late tonight as he and the crew had been taking a woman out on the lifeboat to lay flowers at the point where her husband jumped from the cliffs. I'm unsure how I feel about that one; surely it would be more pleasant to lay flowers somewhere they both enjoyed, rather at the location where he took his life? Of course I'm not qualified to say though.

When he got home I heated up his dinner and we watched Terror in the Skies (why do I do this to myself? I booked my flights for our holiday to Norway today and now I'm nervous about birds flying into the engines)! Early to bed for M and I in a nice tidy bedroom. Ahhh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.