ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Aboyne Loch.

Pentax K1000, colour film, ISO 400

Up early today to collect a bundle of stuff to take to work with me for this afternoon's waterskiing session, organised by my work. I was busy all day - loads to do and not much time to do it in. When we left at 4.30 I had only just got out of a meeting and responded to a complicated email, so my head was buzzing on the drive out to Aboyne!

My neighbour and colleague L drove myself and N (one of the other Enviro girlies) out on South Deeside in the rain. Luckily it stopped by the time we reached Kincardine O'Neil and when we pulled into the carpark for Aboyne Loch it was cloudy but dry. I had my own wetsuit and had also brought along M's for N as they're about the same size. There was only one other guy from our office there so we all went out on the boat together. N took her shot first, and we all watched her tutorial from the instructor, getting more and more nervous! We were put on a fixed training bar that was attached to the side of the boat first, and all of us managed to stand up almost straight away! I think it helped that we can all ski on snow. It was really tiring on your muscles, but myself and L managed to try the short rope after we'd mastered the training bar, and that was a little easier. We felt like we'd earned our burgers and sweeties afterwards! Arms aching, dripping hair and big grins.

I was absolutely kicking myself that I'd not taken my camera on the boat so didn't manage to take any photos of the girls skiing. We're definitely signing ourselves up for next week though, so I'll take my camera then for sure. After our BBQ I headed back down to the loch to get this shot of the sunset over the water. It was so glassy and calm... Until we took the boat out for one more spin and absolutely ripped it around the water.

L drove us both back, where I found M drinking whiskey and watching Trailer Park Boys (which I don't find very funny - although I did pretend to when we first started dating)! His idea of a boys' night in. I fell asleep almost immediately on the sofa so M took me up to bed - I think I'll be sore in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.