Beach Boy #2

Cousteau and I were up earlier than planned this morning, when a quick check of my watch had me exploding out of bed. I got Cousteau up and sorted out a bowl of water for him. He kind of looked at me a bit funny but I figured that was just because it was his first morning in a new place.

I raced to the shower, reached out to turn it on and caught a glimpse of my watch. It wasn't 7:00, it was 4:00!

Cousteau returned to his bed and I to mine and we had another two hours' sleep.

When we did get up again, we stumbled around the garden in the dark (I must find one of my many head torches!) so that Cousteau could do what he needed to do.

Duly done, we headed to the kitchen for Cousteau to eat his breakfast and then headed to school.

School started early this morning and we had a whole staff Professional Development session til 9, complete with pains au chocolat, which were rather nice.

I taught two classes and then raced into town for a meeting at another school. Cousteau snoozed in the boot of the car.

After the meeting (which was surprisingly useful!), we went to our old house and met the new occupants. They seem very nice.

Then we went to get some special food for Cousteau from the vet and then to the post office to redirect my mail.

Then the piece de resistance, a walk on the beach. It was SO incredibly beautiful. We ran and played and Cousteau got told off by me because he 'chose' not to come back when I called him. Suitably chastised, he didn't try that one again!

Fish and chips for tea and then home to bed.

A lovely day really, despite it being a school day. If kind of felt like life. Haven't felt that way for a while. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.