In My World

By JoanneInOz

Burning Valley

Earlier this month I showed a photo of the Condong Sugar Mill, way off in the distance in the valley below where I live.

Today I have a follow up to that blip. The farmer who lives directly behind our home was having a huge sugar cane burn-off tonight, and I managed to get a decent photo, showing the burning cane along with the dusk glow in the sky from the smoke the fire produced.

The purpose of burning the cane is to remove the scrub, and also snakes, etc, from around the cane stalks. The cane is then harvested and taken to the mill, where they work their magic and turn it into the sugar we see in packets on the supermarket shelves.

I haven't had time to add any photos to my journal for the last few days, so some back-blipping will be on its way shortly, along with many, many visits to your journals. Apologies for my lack of visits lately.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.