Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

U is for UNDERTAKER

I doubt many people have a friend who is an UNDERTAKER - but we have, and it fitted in really well with my letter "U" in the ALPHABET CHALLENGE, so having sent John a text last night, he was happy to see me this morning, when I explained what I do on Blip.

Definition:

A person whose business is preparing dead bodies for burial or cremation and making arrangements for funerals.


I have known John Pearce since he was about 8 years old when his father came to be the Rector at our local church and as he and our older son, Martyn, were the same age, they often played together. We had two boys and John has a brother, Andrew, so all four used to play in The Den, one of our bedrooms, along with several others. As teenagers, they ate lots of pizzas and there was always a lot of noise, but at least we knew where they were and they always had great fun!

We have kept in touch over the years; John started work at another local funeral directors, until he opened his own business a few years ago and he has worked his way up and is now included in The Good Funeral Guide 2013.

I have to say that whenever I go to a funeral arranged by Pearce Funeral Services, I am always so proud that the little boy who used to come to our house to play has grown into such a dignified and personable young man - and he is so compassionate and kind and totally professional in his work.

He has still retained his sense of humour though. When I arrived just before 8.30 this morning, I saw on the wall an empty Coca Cola can - John came out, picked it up, read the side and said "Well, I know it says 'Share a Coke with a Friend' but I doubt they would want to share one with their funeral director!"

We had a lovely half hour chatting about old times - in fact, in my scruffy clothes, I felt quite out of place, with him in his "posh" working gear - talk about role reversal!!

All in all, a great morning so far - off to do some baking with a friend this afternoon - inspired by watching The Great British Bake Off - so looking forward to that.

Have a great day fellow blippers.

Paul said: ‘People of Athens! I see that in every way you are very religious. For as I walked around and looked carefully at your objects of worship, I even found an altar with this inscription: to an UNKNOWN god. So you are ignorant of the very thing you worship – and this is what I am going to proclaim to you.
‘The God who made the world and everything in it is the Lord of heaven and earth and does not live in temples built by human hands. And he is not served by human hands, as if he needed anything. Rather, he himself gives everyone life and breath and everything else.
Acts 17 : 22-25
New International Version


P.S. My neighbour suggested I do "UNTIDY" for today's blip, but as I reminder her, my kitchen is still TIDY!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.