The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Precarious

Green beastie
Red kettle
green beetle, beware!


I am in the pub (Sloop Inn)celebrating Steve's birthday with a bunch of his old mates from 30 years or more ago. So I won't say any more right now...

Later: We're camping on an eco-friendly rustic farm site near Bantham sands, South Devon.The weather is gloriously hot. We've spent the whole day being lazy buggers: I cooked breakfast, then we lolled around in folding chairs while CS opened the birthday presents I had brought, which turned out to be mainly books, surprise surprise! So he picked up the huge one about Raymond Chandler and I picked up the little one about an Englishman in Paris, and we read on and on and on. At one point I thought I might try something else so I lay with my head in the tent listening to my audiobook, but the story turned frightening, so I gave up on that...

Later, later, I thought I might go for a coastal path walk, but the ferry across the estuary only runs on demand between 10 and 11 am, so I just carried on reading. I might add that reading without interruption is one of my favourite things, even on a surfing beach! Of course, the surfers are fun to watch too...

By the time we got to the beach it was cloudy and so the surfers' suntans weren't glowing. So we went to the pub for Steve's birthday meal, and met his old friend M, who has a knack for self-deprecating storytelling, and has led a truly rock and roll life. I dipped in and out of the conversation and the wifi and the Cornish Rattler cider, but when the food came, I gave it my full attention.

I rated this day 10/10 for idleness. Perhaps the doctor should prescribe more of these.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.