The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The Avon estuary at Bantham

About a mile down from our campsite.... we got here at about tea time, after spending the morning with J and P near Yealmpton, and then going back to Modbury on the ancestor trail. It was very sunny in the churchyard, and after a lot of searching, and borrowing the index of tombstones (yes, really!) from the church, we managed to find the grave of Robert Hurrell, who is somehow related to CleanSteve's great grandfather Philip. It felt as if we were researching for Who do you think you are?

Modbury is pretty, and empty, apart from lorries roaring through. I was surprised to see a packet of Atora suet in a shop window display, but decided it must be retro-cool. I wish I had paid more attention to it, I am keen on window displays though I think the bunting theme was a little overdone in Modbury. It's like the icing on cupcakes: a little goes a long way and it's too pastel for my loud taste.

Once we'd set up our gin palace at the camp site, we checked out the beach, which is golden and sandy. It must have been nearly seven by then, but whole families were still playing in the water. Just writing about it three days later makes my feet feel alive, as if they still had sand beneath the soles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.