Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

What a tale to tell today

Today was the pre-walk for Day One of our Villages, Castles, Bastles and Loughs walk. This is a 4 day linear walk from Acomb to Haltwhistle, in that festival I may have mentioned once or twice before.

We did the usual thing of putting one car at each end of the route with mine at the end of the 14 miles. It was brilliant walking weather and we had a great time until about 7 miles in, when I realised I had left my car keys in the door pocket of the other car (at the start). Hmm. It took a bit of sorting, especially since we were approaching a mobile phone blackout area.

My poor Mum was just about to eat lunch when I asked her to get my spare keys and bring them to where we were - not too far away as it happened. "My custard will get cold" was the least of our worries when she remembered that her car was in the garage at Hexham for repairs! We tried neighbours and no one was in, but eventually Mum tracked down our friend, Bob, and disturbed his gardening. He brought the keys to Simonburn and left them at the tearoom there for me. Phew!

When the mechanic brought Mum's car back, he thought she had the keys to the garage's car........but they were found in hers. Phew!

I had one of the Blipfoto Ilford cameras with me today and I had to photograph a stranger. For most of the walk we were alone, but at Goatstones Farm we met Mr L, the farmer. He needed a little persuasion but I took one pic on the film camera and then took a few with my own. I hope the film one comes out alright. It's a fun project.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.