Pastel dawn

Yesterday's sunrise was outrageous and wild in it's colours and intensity. Thank you for all those who looked and commented on my blip.

Today's sunrise was subtle and gentle, beautiful in a completely different way.

Late yesterday I attended a retirement farewell for my thesis supervisor. It's many years since I was a student and I was delighted to be invited (though mildly alarmed at where the years have gone). 'Shorty' was a brilliant supervisor, outstanding academic, incredibly practical and dedicated. In many ways he set me up for life. His guidance, problem solving, exacting standards in the field, attention to detail and work ethic taught me much. Through various jobs and careers I've taken transferable skills with me I can trace back to Shorty. (He also taught me more about spelling and grammar than I learned at school!).

Post student I had an shattering accident he offered all kinds of assistance to help me rehabilitate. Last night I thanked him for all he's gifted me that's made a difference to my life, particularly his unshakeable belief in me.

It set me thinking about how important it is to thank and recognise people for what they've done or added to our lives. I'm glad I've had the opportunity with Shorty. I'm sure we'll continue to catch up from time to time (and share the occasional single malt ;-)

Today I've pottered about, had a long phone call with Mum and Dad and just taken time to have some space.

Hope your weekend is going well too :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.