First light, first steps

Of all my blip entries today's was the hardest to choose (and I might yet change my mind!).

I headed out early today for a walk. For the first time in months I put my running shoes on. I mostly walked but I tried a bit of light running too. To begin with I ran a few metres then stopped. Nothing seemed to be in the wrong place or causing me grief so I tried a little bit more.

At one point I found myself grinning from ear to ear and saying out loud "I can run!". I was very careful to only run a few minutes at a time and to go very slowly and gently. It was only a little bit but it showed me what's possible.

Friday's sunrise was fiery red and yesterday's subtle pinks and blues. Todays was all shades of apricot. When I got home I grabbed my camera and walked back down to the river. I was surrounded by surreal apriocot light and I felt a tiny part of something far greater unfolding around me.

Mum and Dad, you'll recognise where this is and know the significance of today. I know you pray and think of me constantly and together you have helped my mending happen thus far. Thank you and I hope you enjoy this

Today was significant too in that I met Barking and Cousteau. Cousteau is indeed as handsome, regal and good natured as he appears, and Barking as lovely a person as you can ever hope to meet. I hope we meet again soon.

Other than a good chin-wag over coffee and food, we headed up to the dog park on the Port Hills. There was much mutual sniffing of bums (the dogs, not the owners ;-)

I had one other shot taken up on the hills I really liked, but I've gone with significance and feeling. Barking was the first person I told about my first steps today. All in all, this seemed the most fitting shot :-)

I continue to be plagued by a dodgy system but I take it a day at a time. If it's a good day I gladly take it, if it's uncomfortable and trying I hope for a better day soon.

I've had just the weekend I needed (after a couple of weeks without the kind of down time we all need). I hope you have too.

(I'll take a break from sunrises tomorrow ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.