Chris

Until this morning, I had never noticed this man and his adorable black cocker spaniel in the park. I may not have seen him today except that it started to rain during my walk and I, along with 10 or so others, took cover in the picnic shelter. For about 15 minutes the two of us chatted about photography. He used to take a lot of pictures, he told me, even had his own little blackroom and only took black and white. I asked him why he stopped, and he said, "Digital." To his way of thinking, digital ruined photography. "Now anyone can take a good picture." Now I'm sure my blipfriends know that I have an entirely different viewpoint on digital photography. I (respectively) expressed it, and Chris politely conceded that I may have a point (or two).

He said he didn't like taking portraits when he was still doing photography, and he was uncomfortable posing for me, but was game to give it a try. I wish I could have had better results. Before the rain let up and the shelter emptied, I took his name and email address so I could send him his picture (and that of his sweet 13-year-old canine companion), but when I sent off the email with the pictures attached, it came back saying the address was not valid. I'm hoping I will see him in the park again soon. I promised to send him pictures, and I hate to let people down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.