Today's surprise is...

...very different from the one I posted yesterday. I was visiting the Butterfly Garden at Holden Arboretum when a green heron flew in and landed on the tallest tree in the garden. I didn't see it land, but one of the gardeners pointed it out to me. I quickly changed my lens, the 35mm I had on the camera wasn't going to work for this bird, and fired off a bunch of blips. You can see the tall tree here minus the heron who flew away shortly after I took his picture. It was such a special surprise for two reasons: 1)Green herons are among my favorite birds, but I don't get to see them very often, and 2)The gardener is also a photographer, and she told me 7:30 am is a good time to bring my camera to the Butterfly Garden.

Now all I have to do is force myself to get up early enough to be at the Arboretum by 7:30. I hope to make it some morning soon because apparently there is a lot more to see then (And we all know the light is better for blipping at that hour.)

Look here for more Arboretum pictures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.