Cabbagetree

By cabbagetree

Polyanthus #3

This is the third of four polyanthus plants I bought. I chose this one for its vibrant colour.

Polyanthus #1

Polyanthus #2

We have had several days of a real nor'wester. Not the cool wet one of a couple of weeks ago. This was the gusty, dry and warm nor'wester that is usually the prevailing wind in our area. The temperature has soared to 13 or 14 degrees (55-57 F). The garden has dried enough to work in.

I have done a lot of tidying up. Because of the unexpectedly early onset of winter I had not done my autumn clean-up. It is good to see the garden improving. Today I committed mass poppycide (DaveH please note), clearing around the broad beans and making a bed to plant waiting cabbage plants in. I did leave some poppies, just a few.

The warm days have done wonders in the greenhouse. My spring greens that have been sitting doing nothing much for a couple of months have burst into life. The mizuna especially is growing by the minute.

Not all is good, however. On the plum and apricot trees buds are swelling much too soon. There are still three months of frosts to come, and blossoms can be very tender.

Cold weather is on its way- soon be back to winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.