Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

Y is for YARBOROUGH

Definition:
YARBOROUGH : A Bridge or Whist hand containing no card higher than a nine
Origin: After Charles Anderson Worsley, Second Earl of Yarborough (1809-1897), said to have bet 1,000 to 1 that such a hand would not occur.


Some years ago we used to meet with friends about once every two weeks, the object of the evening being to learn how to play Bridge. I was never very good and although we all enjoyed playing, we also enjoyed imbibing a glass or two of red wine, which certainly helped the evening along, but didn't help me to understand the intricacies of the game.

One thing I did learn, however, (and I had always wondered about this) was how, in certain books I had read, a murder could be committed by the person who was the "dummy" hand. In effect the dummy could be out of the room - and the dastardly deed could be done!

Because the dummy doesn't actually play his/her own hand, it was the perfect opportunity to provide hot drinks, top up the wine glasses or get snacks as the declarer plays not only his hand, but also the hand of his or her partner - the dummy.

The dummy's cards are placed face up on the table and played by the declarer; the dummy doesn't contribute at all, which could be (and often was for me) rather boring. It was certainly far too complicated for me and after a glass (or two) of wine we ladies were giggling quite a lot finding it quite amusing, which made our husbands a little unhappy as they tended to take it quite seriously.

I don't think I ever really got the hang of it, so sadly probably won't ever get to use this new word - but at least it has helped me out in the ALPHABET CHALLENGE and may have taught a Bridge-playing Blipper something - I may even be able to use the term when we play Rummy with our grandchildren!

Have a great Sunday, fellow blippers - as I write the rain is hammering down - typical Bank Holiday weather but I just hope it isn't raining at Reading, where my son and his daughter, Charlotte, are at the Reading Festival - ah well, what's a music festival without some mud?

God spoke to Moses, telling him, “I am YAHWEH.
I appeared to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob as God Almighty,
but I did not reveal My name YAHWEH to them.
Exodus 6 : 2-3
Holman Christian Standard Bible

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.