Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

X is for Xerophthalmia

Being the sort of person I am, I was determined that my word beginning with X in the ALPHABET CHALLENGE would not actually begin with EX! So having looked up the definitions of several words, this is my take - XEROPHTHALMIA.

XEROPHTHALMIA (Greek for dry eyes) is a medical condition in which the eye fails to produce tears. It is a rare condition in developed countries, but still causes much damage in developing countries and is often due to Vitamin A deficiency. Other forms of dry eye are associated with aging and poor lid closure.

I do suffer with dry eyes from time to time and I guess that is partly because I am getting older - but fortunately, I am able to use eye drops and this does help.

I found this information on the Vision 2020 website:

285 million people (approx) worldwide live with low vision and blindness
39 million people are blind
246 million have moderate or severe visual impairment
90% of blind people live in low-income countries
80% of visual impairment is avoidable
19 million children are visually impaired
About 65% of all people who are visually impaired are aged 50 and older, while this age group comprises only 20% of the world's population

I read a lot and do value my sight - so have regular eye tests - and hope that the cataracts that I have will be removed when necessary, but sadly those in developing countries are not always fortunate enough to have access to medical treatment.

It was difficult to find a name given to Jesus beginning with the letter X, so I hope you will forgive this thinking "outside the box" and using the Roman Numeral for ten:

Jesus said :
".....The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy;
I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.
John X : X
New International Version

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.