Reunited

Sunday means roast dinner. M was up early to prepare it :-) while Alice and I went out to visit the French market at the North Beach. There were only a few stalls, but it was nice to experience a little bit of France on home soil. I looked for our much-loved sausages, but they didn't have the same, perhaps because the stallholders are Norman rather than Breton. Alice bought one of her sucettes though, and we used our little bit of French to buy it (although sadly I asked for a "sucrette"). Alice wouldn't let me near the bag stall. It seemed like they had one stall of each speciality - one for cheese, one for meat, one for snacks, one for jewellry, one for bags etc. I didn't see a boulanger though.

In spite of only being back here for 5 days, it really feels as if we have never been away. One year in France, all gone so very quickly. Too quickly. There is no doubt we could have done with longer to help improve our language skills, perhaps I could have achieved my original goals in another year! In spite of all the studying, and lessons, and living there, I really think the only way to really learn quickly is to do it Alice's way - full time school or work. Whilst I was at that conference in June, even by the end of 3 days, I was feeling more confident. The language is contextual though. I could converse a little about the professional context. Alice almost-fully understands and speaks fluently with her friends, but gets somewhat lost in conversation with adults, reading (or listening to) stories, or watching television.

We miss France, we miss the people, the quieter and slower pace of life there. We miss the mostly empty roads, and the saying of "bonjour" as we enter a shop, and "merci, au revoir, bonne journée" as we leave. I miss everyone saying "bonjour" as we walk along the road. I feel ok saying "good morning" but "good afternoon" just seems too formal, and "hello" doesn't feel right with strangers either. "Good day" went out of fashion years ago, and it just feels awkward now. Maybe I should start saying the Guernésiais "banjour" :-) I'd feel pretty silly I think, but it would be lovely if everyone said it!

However, in spite of missing some aspects of life in France, Guernsey is home and this is one part I really missed. Sunday roast with all the family, and it was the first time since Christmas that we've all managed to be together! Sal (of yesterday's blip fame) popped in later, so she took the photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.