Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Family gathering

I feel very ambivalent about posting this image, but it represents the day so I feel that it is appropriate. Big family gatherings nowadays are often for weddings or funerals and today was the latter. Ernie, (Mum's cousin Joyce's husband), died 3 weeks ago and his body was cremated today.

At the funeral were two family members I had never met - nor did I know they existed. They travelled a long way to be there and to meet people they mainly did not know. This is the reason for the photograph - a group of people, related (distantly) by blood and marriage, getting to know each other and wanting to record that fact. There were many mixed emotions today and some episodes of black humour I don't feel able to repeat, but we did give Ernie a send off, of sorts.

I can tell you that part way through her lunch, Joyce, who has quite advanced dementia, found a half eaten chocolate bar in her pocket. It was very soft and squidgy, but she enjoyed every last lick of it, before returning to the sausage rolls.

As we parted, my cousin, Eric, asked it I needed any bananas (!) As it happens we had none at home. He presented me with 2 bags, left over from a bike ride where he had been the steward. (I think they may be too squidgy to eat.......)

Sometimes life becomes a bit too surreal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.