Steam fanciers

We'd been invited to lunch with friends in Ballsbridge for 3.00, so I needed to fit in a walk before that. I just went along the sea front to Dun Laoghaire, pottered around a home store where there was a sale on, and ended up near the railway station five minutes before the steam train special was scheduled to arrive and head in to town. The platform had been pretty crowded well before that, and now it was really busy, while the streetside wall overlooking the station was lined for most of its length with onlookers. I joined them, got a few (not so great) shots of the actual train (most of the best vantage points had already been taken). The train had left and I was making my way back to the sea front and the return leg of my walk when I spotted this group on the platform below, being interviewed about their steam impressions.

Carl and I got the DART to Ballsbridge, had a lovely lunch with friends, stayed on afterwards for chat and additional hospitality, watched a couple of episodes of the old Mission Impossible TV series, and finally got a taxi back to Carl's, by which time it was after midnight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.