The Pevensie Dilemma

By PevensieDilemma

Questions, Questions, Questions

I'm heading home from London this afternoon.

Unfortunately, I have no ETA due to 600 metres of electrical cables coming down between 2 stations on my route.

I'm on the only diesel train heading north, however, there are scattered and stranded trains stretching for miles which are causing severe delays.

Since leaving London, I've asked myself a simple question each time additional news is cascaded -

"Christine, how will you choose to respond?"

My choice is ultimately going to affect my mood and my capacity to cope, right?

I have my Mac, a diet coke, a comfortable seat and I've taken my All Stars off.

This makes me a happy girl.


Sometimes, all it takes to help us shift our perspective is for the right question to be asked at the right time.

When people are busy, stressed, frustrated or simply can't see a way out of a situation, they often do not ask themselves the right kind of questions - if any questions at all. This is because their focus and priority is elsewhere.

At times, a question asked from a different perspective can open up some options and some choices.

Next time a friend or colleague is 'stuck', consider whether you can offer any support by asking some high quality questions - questions that challenge the person to think outside of their own perceived limits.

People don't always need a solution from us - just a prod or a nudge to help them think for themselves!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.