Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

To a new beginning

I have lots of catching up to do with back-blips.

Most of the past ten days seems to have been spent in hospitals. Further drama with the elbow saw my arm balloon up out of all recognition and become desperately bruised and discoloured, which necessitated a visit to Beaumont A&E on Friday night. The wrist cast was taken off because it was restricting the swelling, and I was given a brace instead. Yesterday when I went to the fracture clinic in Blanchardstown I was told that the elbow IS fractured after all, but that 'conservative' treatment is the most appropriate, with no need for a cast. The guy I saw didn't want me to come back again for four weeks but I managed to negotiate him down to two instead. Hopefully my arm will still look like an arm then.

---------------------------------------

But, enough of that. I took the bull by the horns yesterday afternoon and contacted Conns Cameras about replacing my poor unfortunate lost Fuji X20. Their web site mentioned limited availability of demo models of the X100, and I was told that an even better deal was possible with a good-as-new second-hand X100. I promised to be in this morning around 11:00 and I was. Deal done. I now have a gorgeous X100 which came in a box which looked as if it hadn't been opened, complete with two spare batteries, an adapter ring and a filter -- and Conns threw in an 8GB memory card as well. I came away having paid €50 less for the X100 than I would have spent on a new X20.

I got the bus to Malahide and took a few shots, treating myself to a nice cool large bottle of Bulmers afterwards. This is my first blip with my new baby. Hopefully a new beginning -- and not only on the camera front.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.