In My World

By JoanneInOz

Over 20 years in the making...

You may remember earlier this month I made the announcement that I would finish crocheting the doily that my mum had been working on before she passed away.

I'm very pleased to tell you that the motivation to get it finished didn't leave me. I persevered to the finish, gently washed it, ironed it using the same brand of spray starch that mum used donkeys years ago and it is now beneath some old family photos.

The doily has actually been finished for a couple of weeks, but I chose today to show you all the end result as it is twenty years ago today since my mum passed away.

In the photo you can see the doily, with a small framed photo of my mum and dad, dad in his army uniform, then behind them, to the right is my maternal grandmother and to the left, my paternal grandfather. The dish on the right belonged to my maternal grandmother who died in 1932 when mum was only ten years of age.

I'm so happy to have finally finished mum's doily. It took me twenty years, but oh well, I got there eventually.

It's Father's Day this weekend (is it Father's Day world wide, or just in Australia?) and also my son plays his football grand final (rugby league) tomorrow afternoon. I hope you all have a wonderful weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.