Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Fish and Chicks

Right then. Dinner then. This then. Aka: yes I was photo-less when I got home. xP

However, this is worth recording: barramundi with herbed chick-pea puree, baby spinach and chopped tomatoes. OMANDALSONOM.

Now, I'm going to stop typing, and get back to researching cameras. A new camera will be happening for my birthday, 90% for the purpose of wide-angle astrophotography (i.e. mostly Milky Way). There's a Sigma lens I has my eye on, precious: f/1.4 30mm prime. It can go on either a Canon or a Nikon, and I keep swinging one way and then the other ... more pixels in the Canon, that's better ... lower pixel density in Nikon better because lower noise ... all things being equal which they're probably not ... also higher pixel density in Canon gives better resolution as smaller bits of sky per pixel (that one seems rather persuasive, to me) ... fully articulated LCD in Canon thus can swing it out and easier to view what I've just taken with the camera pointing vertically on the tripod ... I've read Nikon's being described as "star eaters" because they recognise faint stars as noise and kill 'em ... but I've also read that the D3100 is not a star eater ... Nikon might not have autofocus motor in the body so I don't know if it would focus the Sigma lens (that might be a biggie, though not so much for the astrophotography, probably) ...

Too much too much too too too much. xP

Opinions would be welcome; price is dictating either a Nikon D3100 (with the kit 18-55mm - as well as the Sigma) or a Canon 600D (just the body and the Sigma - which I don't mind, as I'm pretty sure I'd be using the prime almost all the time even if I get the Nikon).

Oh, and specially for jensphotos I present tonight's coffee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.