The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Straight from the bedroom ceiling !

When my son in law appeared this morning, telling me he had a green grasshopper walking round his bedroom ceiling my ears pricked up!
So I sent him off with a little pot to catch it for me. He reappeared a little while later with this beauty hopping madly round the pot, so much so I had to put her in the fridge for 2 hours before she would pose for me!
I have to confess, I was expecting a Speckled bush cricket, as I often see the nymphs in the garden...instead I found this a beautiful female Oak Bush Cricket Meconema thalassinum.
According to the net it is a resident of woodlands, hedgerows and gardens. it is probably the least seen of the bush crickets and unlike the other bush crickets completely arboreal. The adults however fly well and are attracted to light and often, it seems, found on bedroom ceilings!!!
Today's blip is this little beauty sitting on my hand washing her foot before happily hopping off on her way.
She is a LOT smaller than the great green bush cricket I blipped on August 12th but just as beautiful.
Enjoy, and have a great weekend !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.