In the red!

Mr U & L and I went for a tripette to Shoreham air display this afternoon, once again we 'gate crashed' and watched from a nearby field rather than pay the £22 entrance fee!
I decided to use my canon camera with Robyn's 300mm lens that had been playing up and not working on her camera, and guess what! it came up with 'error code 99' on my camera too - great!! so that was that idea in the bin.
As a result I had to use my Lumix G10 with the 200mm lens, which is fine apart from the fact I really struggle with the autofocus on this camera, and finding a tiny plane in a mass of sky, and trying to focus on it left me feeling very dizzy and the results were OK, but really not worth blipping.
Mr U & L stayed at our vantage point to wait for the Vulcan bomber, while I wandered back to the car, to get warm, and to photograph the wonderful Houseboats that line the river by the main Shoreham bridge.
On the way along the path I spotted this pristine Red Admiral (Vanessa atalanta) butterfly feeding on the last few flowers on the buddelia bush.
The Red admiral is a large, strong flying butterfly which is common and easily recognised.
Each spring, and continuing through summer there are successive migrations of Red admirals from Continental Europe and North Africa. Once here the immigrant females lay eggs and the life cycle begins. From July onwards these emerge as butterflies, which boosts the numbers and accounts for the flush of Red Admirals seen into the autumn. This is also true of the closely related Painted Lady butterfly, although the numbers of adults fluctuate much more with this species.
Back in the car, I 'heard' the arrival of the Vulcan bomber...boy was it loud!!!! but a wonderful aircraft as was the Typhoon Eurofighter that followed.......a real 'Top Gun' moment!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.