Autumn Moths 2014 (pt 1)

Well, here we are at the final day of summer, boy did that time go quickly! To say I feel down is a bit of an understatement ( I love summer) but this year I am determined to keep going at a better pace than I did last year. For a start I plan to do a series of shots on graveyards and the exteriors of some of our beautiful local churches, as well as continuing with my macro shots whenever I can.
I am delighted that my new 'real' Robinson moth trap means I can run the trap in the rain with a glass bowl inverted over the bulb protecting it, which is pure magic as the autumnal moths are among the most beautiful.
To celebrate I thought I would blip one of the lovely moths I caught last night, along with another spectacle, a swallow prominent and around 60 Large yellow underwings!!
This beauty is a Centre-barred sallow moth Atethmia centrago, (a newbie to my garden).
The centre-barred sallow is fairly common in the southern half of the uk, it is medium sized with a wingspan of 32 - 36mm and on the wing during August and September.
The larvae feed on Ash, by burrowing into the buds when newly hatched and feeding on the flowers and leaves.
I will be running the trap again tonight, so I wonder what delights will be waiting for me tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.