The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Shake rattle and roll!

I made some important decisions today!
Firstly, in keeping with the general trend on Blip, henceforth my husband will be called Mr U&L, I did consider common&horrible but I somehow didn't think he would be very appreciative!!!
Well, Mr U&L and I decided to gatecrash the Shoreham air display today, by that I mean we went to Shoreham, parked down by the river and watched the air display in the skies above us. Granted it probably wasn't as good as it would have been at the air field but then again it didn't cost us £22 each either!
We saw the Battle of Britain memorial flight, listening to the wonderful droning of the stunning Lancaster bomber, and watched a mock 'dog fight' between no less than 6 spitfires such nippy, maneuverable little planes no wonder the 2nd World war pilots loved them. I have pictures and I have placed them in my Blipfolio for you to see, but in the end I simply couldn't resist this Herring gull, having a shake down and looking all dishevelled!
I hope you like him too, it was a difficult choice, and in view of this I will leave you with the poem High Flight written by a 2nd World War spitfire pilot.
Least we should forget!

High Flight

Oh! I have slipped the surly bonds of earth
And danced the skies on laughter-silvered wings;
Sunward I've climbed, and joined the tumbling mirth
Of sun-split clouds - and done a hundred things
You have not dreamed of - wheeled and soared and swung
High in the sunlit silence. Hov'ring there
I've chased the shouting wind along, and flung
My eager craft through footless halls of air.
Up, up the long delirious, burning blue,
I've topped the windswept heights with easy grace
Where never lark, or even eagle flew -
And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
The high untresspassed sanctity of space,
Put out my hand and touched the face of God.

Pilot Officer Gillespie Magee
No 412 squadron, RCAF
Killed 11 December 1941

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.