Box Hill

Having had a great morning at David's tent, I decided to have a nice peaceful afternoon up Box Hill Near Dorking.
Dorking holds a special place in my heart as it was where I was born, sadly my children tell me that officially makes me a Dork! I have to admit I am not so sure.....
Box Hill is at the summit of the North downs overlooking Dorking in Surrey. it takes it's name from the ancient box woodland found on the steepest west-facing chalk slopes that overlook the River Mole. The highest point is Bertchworth clump at 224m although the Salomons Memorial which overlooks Dorking (at 172m) is by far the most popular viewpoint.
I went to the Salomons memorial, and managed to find several Autumn lady's tresses in the short grassland just below it, as well as Rufous grasshoppers and Harebells.
I thought it would be good to photograph the stunning views, but I got distracted by this family flying a spectacular kite!
So, today's blip is Kite flying on Box Hill, hopefully giving some idea of the amazing views.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.