East Coasting

By OzBeachcomber

Figbirds

We had a family of Figbirds visiting today - it's been ages since I saw them. There were three males and two females. They are very flighty and it was hard to get close enough to photograph them all together. The colourful males camouflage well with the green palm fronds and the red berrries(especially with the red around their eyes) and the ladies with their brown feathers blend in well with the dead parts of the palm leaves. I think the female here maybe a young bird. I also liked this shot of a female with a red berry in her beak
Edit - A. just got home from a big day boating and fishing and they were so lucky to see whales - he managed to get a couple of shots with his camera so I thought I'd share one with you Whale breaching off Yamba

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.