Bob20

By Bob20

A rare Rainbow Trout

This is really an Emergency Blip of sorts! I knew I was going to be in London all day, I have just returned home. I didn’t really want to take my camera and the i-phone and myself do not see eye to eye when it comes to technology working as it is supposed to.

I woke up early this morning to a glorious start to the day, so I went out to see if I could capture a rainbow trout in our stretch of the River Wye.

This is actually a very rare sight. The River Wye is the only river in the country which has naturally occurring Rainbow Trout. The conditions for them are ideal. The chemical composition of the water and the flow of it suit these fish perfectly.

If you see Rainbow Trout anywhere else, they will have been introduced by an angling club or the owner of fishing rights on a river and will have been farmed.

As we have quite a large number of these fish on our stretch of the river through our land, I am in regular contact with the Environment Agency, and they with me to ensure their good health, especially as we operate a hydropower scheme.

The sad part is the increasing numbers which are being poached from our three bridges on the property. We have anti poaching devices, but still the fish are taken.

Alongside the Rainbow Trout, we have naturally occurring Brown Trout and Grayling. All three are beautiful fish.

Taking photographs of fish through water is not easy and does lead to some colour distortion, but you can clearly see the rainbow colours in this shot.

Thank you for your comments on yesterday’s “on tools” blip, I will be replying to them all ASAP.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.