Under the flyover

The early morning light is shining through the pillars supporting the Victoria Park flyover. At the end of this path I turned right and passed a houseless man stirring after a cold night outside. I asked if he would mind if I took his photograph. He consented, but unfortunately I found that I had run out of room on the SD card. I did delete a previous picture, and then rushed the one of him. So, this leads to the building (the old Campbell Free Kindergarten) against one wall of which he was sitting with his goods around him.

I went home to a breakfast of muesli and coffee. I was later visited by my daughters and grandsons for Fathers Day, and we shared an early lunch of breakfast sandwiches bought by J. This afternoon, I was able to talk to my son and Miss 7 and Master 6 using FaceTime. Whether or not Andy (he told me his name during our brief conversation) has any children or grandchildren, I know not. He would not have seen them today, I feel sure.

He also asked my name; after being told, he wanted to know if I am a New Zealander. An affirmative answer, to which he responded with satisfaction. The New Zealand of my younger years had few such persons. The social safety net was strong, and basically caring, even if sometimes some people were kept detained in the old asylums for many years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.