MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Dancing On A Dogberry

It was quite dull when I eventually got out with the camera this evening so I decided to shoot bugs using flash. I got a spider catching a froghopper, a sweet little mirid, a nicely detailed weevil and some grasshoppers but I have chosen to post this green shield bug. They are ubiquitous and I've posted one before but I think this has character. It's balancing on its dogwood berry ball at such a jaunty angle. :)

The flash has illuminated the far from smooth surface of the dogberry. The prehistoric archer known as Ötzi the Iceman, discovered in 1991 on the border between Italy and Austria, was carrying arrows made from dogwood. The leaves turn beautifully in autumn and the stems glow bright red in winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.