Information Retrieval

By Syetuttle

South Stack, Holyhead

Speechless, breathless....................say no more*

*not strictly true as I have quite a bit to write up here as we has an awsome day out in a 7 seater.....

watch this space.......

Today was spent touring the island of Anglesey with the aim of having a chippy tea on the way back to the camp site . Initially we went hunting for castles & ruins and ended up visit a disused copper mill, a quiet stony beach, a farm which "sells the best jam preserves in the world", driving past a Nuclear power plant and finally South Stack via the scenic route (Trearddur Bay).

South Stack is situated west of Holyhead and is famous for that moody "postcard from Wales" which consists of the Lighthouse shown, but at a closer/steeper vantage point, with a shepherd & his sheep on the path leading to it. Shot in colour of course, not infrared like mine!
Fortunately the weather went from average (though no rain) to brilliantly sunny by the time we reached this spot with the sun setting nicely into the west. It was rather windy too, which made it all the more terrifying - a few steps away from where I was sitting taking this shot, would have resulted a certain death.
Much to my annoyance I didn't bring my tripod (more for not so anti- social reasons) so I was in search of a flat spot, which is where I took this shot from (a small concrete plinth). This also explains the low vantage point & my foot being where it was.

If I had known about the exact location of this beauty spot previously, I would've made an effort to take a "quick shot" before heading to Ireland like we have done many times in the past. Will be doing it next year when we head that way in the summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.