Mikey88

By Mikey88

Shepherd's Delight

As you can see, I chose the sunset to blip tonight, but it was a difficult choice. I managed to get out early and some of the competition for this shot included some good shots of huge skeins of canada geese flying up the estuary; redshank and greenshank feeding in the mud; a greater spotted woodpecker; various macro shots of seeds and insects on flowers and a landscape including an old wooden chair which someone had abandoned on the quay.

On getting home after this, I tried for some more butterfly shots and got some sharp ones of a pair of speckled woods in their courtship flight. Then it was the rest of the day.

After lunch we went to the mother-in-law's where I finally dismantled her swing seat and got it to the tip and cleared a stack of brambles which were encroaching on the lawn. After this we brought her home and gave her tea, taking her home again at about eight o'clock - and that's when things got interesting.

The sky looked promising, so I took the camera and tripod and on driving her home, the whole sky turned red and pink. I drove past shot after shot and finally got her home. I threw her and her shopping out of the car and then drove off. Actually, I stopped myself from doing that, and carried her shopping in for her then set off back home.

The colour over the moor had gone and was rapidly fading in the rest of the sky, but I got higher as I neared the village and stopped at the edge looking over the Tamar Valley to the West. I set up the camera and tripod just off the road and started shooting. Some of the exposures were quite long and suddenly it was rush hour! Several of the pictures have light trails in them, but I managed to get some without - including the one above.

Hope you have all had a good weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.