An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

365!!!

365!

As The Avid Lensman, I thought it fitting to spell out (albeit rudimentarily) the figure 365 in some of my lenses! As I have no table, they are spread out over my bed and I had to use flash. (The list of what they all are is below*)

So, the year, without a gap, 365 concurrent images and I must say, it’s been good to be a part of Blip. As every ‘yearer’ says, such an excellent, supporting and very special community that helps you along with one’s photography as it does with one’s life too.

I reached my goal, one which I only set about a month ago, to notch up one hundred thousand views within the year. That happened a few weeks ago, now another 5k has been added to that – blip certainly seems to grow if you support it and nurture it, which I do try and do.

However, not being much of a communicator in real life, I do find commenting sometimes not particularly easy – true I always have an opinion on a photograph but the other stuff I find harder. Both the friend who introduced me to Blip and his brother who introduced him, have stopped at the 365 and naturally, I do wonder if I should follow their suit. It’s not the finding and taking of the daily photographs that is of issue, it’s me! And, what on earth did I do with my time before Blip??

Looking on a more positive side, more and more throughout these past twelve months, I have turned plain old ideas and projects that never actually got done into living and breathing photographs, that found an audience – a reason - and a voice. From various favourite places to new genres (people, sport) perhaps my best one was to make friends with my tripod again. At one point, with my Nikon D700 having a top iso of 12600, I really did wonder why on earth would anyone lug a heavy contraption around (without use of a car!) again, if they could possibly help it? But, usually in the depths of silly hours of the night, some of my most rewarding and best received images have been taken using my trusty old Manfrotto.

So, with a Staff Pick, a recent Calumet Photo of the Week and most entries featuring in the Spotlight recently, plus those 105000 views I want to thank everybody and all who took the time to click on an image of mine, on a star rating, sometimes a subscription ‘+’ and on 650 occasions, the heart symbol, too. Whatever I do from now on, I most respectfully and humbly THANK you!! Please DO carry on enjoying Blip as I have done.

Thanks also has to go to my good friend Des, who bought me my annual subscription, though not a member, or a photographer, he could see the importance for me to fully join. Photography remains my joy, my passion, my artistic expression and my daily medicine. Giving me purpose and a reason to enjoy being alive, which, frankly, I have often found very difficult indeed, at times.

* Lenses, top, to bottom, left to right: (image taken with Sigma EX 24-70mm f2.8) Look in LARGE

Nikkor 18-200mm f3.5-5.6 VR; Sigma 8mm f3.5 circular fisheye; Sigma EX 70-200mm f2.8 Apo; Sigma EX 14mm f2.8; Tamron SP 90mm f2.8 macro; Sigma 20mm f1.8; Sigma 150-500mm f5-6.3 OS Apo; Tamron SP 70-300mm f4-5.6 VC; Nikkor 135mm f2; Nikkor G 85mm f1.8; Nikkor 16mm f2.8 fisheye; Tamron SP 500mm f8 catadioptric

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.