Poole...

Poole is a historic fishing town, just west of Bournemouth but part now of the Bournemouth/Poole conurbation, albeit largely a lovely and leafy one.

I hadn't been there for years and so it was a 2 hour bus journey(s) each way - and if you think that is pure adventure and luxury, buses have no air-con, no toilets nor adequate seating space, if you're over average height (as I am). Tiny windows (that often close by themselves, when the bus goes over 40mph) are the only ventilation and people would rather cook than get their hairstyling ruffled, it seems...

Never mind, it was a glorious hot day and once in Poole and down by the Quay, I was in photographic heaven. The light was strong, the sky blue and my 3 lenses (10-24, 16-85 & 70-300mm) had plenty to focus on. There were fishing vessels bringing the catch in, lots of touristy people walking and sitting about and the small ferries to Brownsea Island and other local tours around Poole harbour came and went.

One of the south's biggest exporter and bucking the economic trend are Sunseeker, making super luxury leisure crafts - the sort that are exported to millionaires only, are based just across from Poole Quay and you can see some of their beauties on the water. Photos of them, of course, but in the end I chose this bright sunny image.

I just had to choose something water-based as I just don't visit the seaside enough, despite many pictures of the many fine old historic buildings in Poole 'Old Town'. The red boat attracted my eye, then the reflections, then the distant yacht sails and with the outline of Brownsea Island beyond. Lens is Tamron SP 70-300mm f4-5.6 plus polariser, specially useful with water and metallic objects and brightly coloured paint. Check closer in LARGE

I am indeed overwhelmed by the huge response brought on by my 365 entry yesterday. It seemed to have got stuck in the top Spotlight spot for much of the day and evening. I can only thank you all most humbly!

I do need to add that when I posted that entry, just after midnight, I had intended to write it and publish the next morning. I had tried to go to bed at 10pm but my neighbour below me was obviously having a difficult time, as he was throwing things around his room and banging doors and hitting things. Our council flats are mostly taken by those of us who have gone through the mental health system at some point and to some extent.

My neighbour is usually as quiet as a church mouse, one who wears carpet slippers at that! Just occasionally, he has a 'funny five minutes' and it is over quite quickly. However, this time, by my third attempt at bed, it was 3 a.m. before he stopped. Therefore, I was irritable, extremely tired and really quite annoyed when I wrote all that bit about possibly not continuing with Blip.

I will continue posting every day but I will have to spend less time in front of the PC - which, as I've said before - is my only way of accessing the 'net. How that affects my commenting etc, I will have to see at the time. I will definitely be going out again most of the day tomorrow, as it is forecast to be another scorcher, but then much colder and rain. I will get back to Blip proper then. So, thanks for your understanding!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.