An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Misty, Murky Morning - 2

You lot are AWESOME!!

Huge thanks to everyone for ALL the amazing, touching and uplifting comments on yesterday's 730th, 2 year entry - I did feel that someone else was the centre of attention and not me - I simply don't see myself as others (seem) to....

With over 200 comments and 50 Hearts, it would have been impossible to reply to all. But I have managed to thank individually every one who kindly cast a Heart, which is always my policy anyway, even if it did take me most of the whole morning!

This image

Many do say that their favourites of mine are night-time Blips. So, with the promise from weather forecasters for a clear night, with cloud coming in....

Instead, I found a murky gloom. Leaden skies and a slight mist that wasn't thick enough to look romantic, or eerie.

I've been to - and Blipped - this part of Salisbury's Churchill Gardens before, where it meets a tributary to the Avon. Rather overgrown and here, a branch had fallen. This made a nice, framing arc and so was the clincher.

I had found, in a moment of unease, an LED red light that was face down in the grass, switched on. Perhaps it had fallen off a bike? For some reason, I placed it on the path and it became part of the picture. I did an alternative, with this red light removed but in the end, I think it adds a little mystery and intrigue. Also, that corner is quite empty, otherwise. In the darkness (darker than how the image appears) it glowed rather nicely, actually.

The two and a half minute exposure helped smooth over the water. Looks nice LARGE

Lens is Nikkor D 17-35mm f2.8, on the full-frame D700.

Colour is from a mixture of muted, distant street-lights and the white balance I had set on the camera. I don't think it was unattractive and so have left it. I didn't want to go mono for the third day in a row, either.

The brightness in the weather didn't happen until the afternoon.

Delighted to add that Blip HQ have added my Romsey Abbey, with stars Blip to their Twitter and Facebook feeds! Cheers, guys!

Thank you all, again!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.