MaryannA

By MaryannA

One Bad Apple?

I was searching for a blip and considered the apples on the tree out back, but I didn't see the "Perfect" apple! As I wandered around the property, close to the neighbor's yard, I noticed the large mound of apples and peelings on their composte heap... I guess these didn't make it to the pies and preserves.

It got me thinking of the saying...
One bad apple spoils the whole bunch?

"Bad apples" are people who are internally conflicted. These internal conflicts tend to spread up to the level of the group, decreasing the groups' complexity, flexibility, and their ability to grow and adapt. On the more positive side, conflict resolution spreads as well, up from inside us and into our relationships, and down from our relationships to make us more internally flexible as well.

Implications - Expect conflict. Embrace it as a human condition. It is a means to our peril, as well as to our future resilience. And if you run into a bad apple, RUN FOR YOUR LIFE!

Oppressively humid and hot today. All the grandkids are gone to their new home, and I am left once again to my packing and sorting. Two curios are somewhat close to empty. The largest of the elephants are packed away. Still have a good 50 - 100 left to go , medium and small ones, wooden ones, brass ones, glass ones and materials I don't even know. Also a collection of Great Danes and then all the other non- elephant animals. It's like a Noahs Ark, I tell ya! I swear they are multiplying!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.