The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Sweet pea

"is it normal to feel completely overwhelmed on the first day of the school year?" asked one of the therapists to her parents, who are both teachers.
"yes" came the reply.

We had training today in the spiritual ethos of a Catholic special school. I found it very interesting, not at all what I had expected. And I am no longer the new girl this year! That's good. But I am going to go in early tomorrow, when the pupils return, just to get the hang of things. I am a playworker/support assistant at a very special school, for those who might be reading this without knowing much about me.

After lunch I caught the bus to Nailsworth. The traffic was held up by a burst water main,which was squirting water twelve feet in the air in a thin stream, like an Icelandic geyser.I think the Severn Trent guys must have diverted the stream into the air, as I've never seen anything like it. I took photos, but they got muddled up with the reflection of someone's face in the bus window. Shame about that.

Coming back after seeing my client, I met a friend from the WEA classes, and we discussed this year's reading list, of which more anon because I haven't started to read any of them yet! The course this year will be "literature and social history of the War Years, 1939-45". We'll be starting in about a month's time. I still haven't heard from the University of Exeter about whether the (online) course in Life Writing will go ahead. Had better ask, as I'd like to have a plan B if it doesn't.

Returning home, I found that CleanSteve had left for Dorset for a mini-break, but had done lots of cleaning before he went, and picked some of my favourite David Austen (sp?) roses, Golden Celebration, and placed them in various places around the house where I could smell them. What a sweetie!

But Bomble is the subject again, just because he is such a poseur that he had to be in shot with the sweet peas and the decorative glass pebbles on the windowsill. It's rubbish, but the flowers are bright, and hey, I am really tired, We both woke far too early. Tomorrow is another day,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.