Cabbage Tree on the Port Hills

I awoke feeling jaded this morning. Experience has taught me I should listen to such signals, so I morphed an intended run into a walk up onto the Port Hills instead. Particularly since I have a trip to the mountains planned tomorrow.

My wandering took me into the Bowenvale Reserve at the top of the Huntsbury Track where there is a lone Cabbage Tree and interesting old volcanic rocks.

I thought of Cabbage Tree out on the Canterbury Plains with the mountains in the distance. I live in fantastic place. Go for large.

The forecast high winds have thwarted tomorrow's plan A in the hills but we have a plan B instead. Here was me getting my head around Steepface Hill (hardly a hill at a tad under 2000m). The name suggests a laconic wag was behind that one ;-) The alternative Rat Hill with a Snowy Stream thrown in for good measure sounds just as intriguing. They're nearby to the original plan so I suspect the same bloke named them too.

In a couple of weeks time I'll be leading an overnight trip in the same area to Tribulation Hut. With no heating that's just what it could be ;-) It's an area that's new to me as it's recently been opened up by DOC (Department of Conservation), basically a land swap with a high country station following land tenure review.

The weather might keep us too low but I'll have my ice axe, crampons and helmet just in case.

I have a Moa Imperial Stoutto finish. Blimey, it packs a punch. Now I know what my mate I gave a bottle to when he had his knee replaced meant. I thought he was being a blouse at the time when he text me but apparently not. Nothing that a bit of telly and bit of dark chocolate won't take care of ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.