mcgoobs

By mcgoobs

Ta Leme, Corfu

Not the best photo I got from the plane, but content wise it's my favourite as you can see so much of the south of Corfu. You can see Vidos Island (underneath the wing of the plane), the old fortress (just above the wing), Garitsa Bay, the lagoon with the runway and Mouse Island (at the top) and the premonitory of Kavos extending out past the mountains in the very hazy distance, on the right side of which, in the West, which lies St George.

Left in the morning with all my luggage and, as if they knew, all of the pooches - Lilly, Johnny and Xena - trotted ahead of me like my own little vanguard until I reached the Panorama Restaurant where I was getting my pick up, quite a distance down the road. When I got there, I called Xena over and she ran up to me and reached up to me with her paws for last cuddles. It was literally the sweetest thing.

On the transfer to the airport I sat in the guiding seat next to Natalie (who's taking over from me) and she suggested I do my last airport transfer spiel, which was a fun way to finish my work with TUI. Said goodbye to everyone at the airport and had fun sniffing all the perfumes in duty free before boarding. Got given an extra-space window seat and enjoyed stunning views of Corfu, Italy, the snow capped Alps and stunning cloud-scapes on the way home. After landing, picking up luggage, getting a train and a tube with all my luggage (no help offered up and down underground stairs by a single person - welcome back to England!) I finally got home and was greeted by a rather surprised Indie who was beside herself, making little yelping noises and running in circles at my return.

It was then Mum's turn to be surprised and she screamed as I jumped out on her as she opened the living room door, which was highly amusing, even if she had had slight suspicions as to what James's surprise was!

James, Mum and I then went to this lovely little Italian place in Ruislip called Zaza's and had some incredible food and some lovely wine and good conversation - perfect first evening home.

Glad to be back, but it's striking just how grey and busy and cold England is after three months of nearly continuous sun and heat and blue skies. Just the teeniest bit of a culture shock!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.