Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Crossing over to the other side?

Going on a photo course has all sorts of spin offs. One is that you come home with a wish list of new kit. Mine includes a Canon 5D Mark III but I'm not mentioning that at the moment. Here are 3 new bits of kit I've bought this week.

Firstly there is a Vanguard ball head joint for the tripod. I have a lovely geared head but it is far too heavy for the Indian holiday. JG had one of the Vanguards last week so I had a chance to see what I thought of it.

Secondly is an L shaped mount to fit my Canon 7D. I had seen these last year but discovered I could not use one with my tripod. The new head has an Arca fitting so now I can.

Thirdly is the Nikon (yes, I know I'm a Canon girl at heart) J1 camera. This is such a neat little beauty and I'm looking forward to using it. The battery is charging as I write.

Otherwise today - we had our regular committee for the Walking Festival. All going well with bookings well up on last year this time. (Still plenty of places.........)

Then I slept all afternoon - much needed.

Camera club tonight where the staff photographer for the Morpeth Herald showed her work. Very interesting to hear how you come up with new ideas for the umpteenth local village show.

PS I might have a rant about the Indian railways site - suffice it to say that you have to really, really want to book a train because the computer keeps saying "No" :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.